Wisconsin Cross Country Coaches Association

Twenty-eighth Annual

HALL OF FAME BANQUET

And AWARDS



Friday, January 10, 2020

Embassy Suites, 1200 S. Moorland Rd. Brookfield

WCCCA HALL OF FAME PROGRAM

Welcome

WCCCA President Bryon Graun, Colby/Abbotsford

Awards Presenter

WCCCA Vice-President Andrew Lelenski, Divine Savior Holy Angles

Hall of Fame Presenters

Arnie Miehe, Darlington Jim Vollmer, Campbellsport

HALL OF FAME—CLASS OF 2020

MARY HARTZHEIM—Lakeland Union High School. Hartzheim was a three-time Lumberjack Conference champ, notching titles in 1983, 1984, and 1985. During those same seasons, she finished runner-up individually at the Sectional meet. And while competing at State, she finished third in 1983, second in 1984, and once again second in 1985. At the Kinney Meet, now known as Foot Locker, Mary finished eighth at the Regional Meet, and then eighth at Nationals.

DENNIS KRAMER—Antigo High School. Kramer was the Wisconsin Valley Conference individual champion in 1964 and 1965, finishing second in 1963. His Antigo team won the title all three years. At the Sectional, he was individual runner-up in 1964, and champion in 1965. Once again, in both years his team captured the Sectional crown. At the State meet, Dennis was seventh in 1963, second in 1964, and first in 1965.

ERIC LUECK—Wisconsin Lutheran High School. Lueck's extensive credentials include thirteen conference championships along the way. While competing in WISAA, his teams were runner-up in 1995, 1997, and 1998, leading to the championship in 1999. Moving to the WIAA, his teams captured Sectional titles in 2005, 2011, 2013-2016, and 2018. He has qualified thirteen teams for State, winning the championship in 2011, 2013, and 2014, placing second in 2015. His teams placed third in 2005, 2009, 2012, and 2016.

TYSON MIEHE—Darlington High School. Miehe was a four-time SWAL Conference champ, as well as Sectional champion. He won three straight D-3 State championships, from 2011-2013. In addition, he led his Darlington team to the State title each of those three years. His 2012 time was a state record, 15:51. He was D-3 Runner of the Year in 2013, and First Team All-State from 2011-2013. As a senior, he was a WIAA Scholar Athlete, and Academic All State all four years of high school. He went on to win four letters at UW-Madison, where his teams won Big Ten titles in 2016 and 2018. He competed in two NCAA national championship races. He now joins his father in the WCCCA Hall of Fame, who was inducted fifteen years ago.

WILLARD RUDIGER—South Milwaukee HS, Milwaukee West Division HS, Whitefish Bay HS. In 1941, shortly before World War II began, Rudiger's team at South Milwaukee captured not only the Suburban Conference title, but the State team championship as well. While at Whitefish Bay, his teams were Suburban champions in 1955 and '56, State team champs in '55 and '57. They were State team runner-up in 1951, 52, 53, and 54. He coached individual state champions in 1956 and 57.

ARLIE SCHARDT—Milwaukee South Division High School. Schardt's teams were State champions in 1921, 1922, and 1931. They were runner-up in 1920 and 1928. He coached Henry Jacobsen to the individual title in 1921. He also coached the individual runner-up in 1919, 1920, 1921, 1922, and 1928.

2019 State Coaches and Runners of the Year

Coach

Girls

- D-1 Michaud/ Raney—Muskego
- D-2 Sarah Kopplin-Shorewood
- D-3 Tim Moore—Lourdes

Boys

- D-1 Finnel/Richardson-Middleton
- D-2 Bill Dietrich—Valders
- D-3 Geoff Wilhelmy—Aquinas

Runner

Kora Malacek—Onalaska Kayci Martensen—Southwestern Coop Abby Bartel—Weyauwega/Fremont

Jake Krause—Hortonville Lucas Florsheim—Shorewood Christian Patzka—WI Heights/Barneveld

2019 District Coaches and Runners of the Year

Coach

1 Boys—Kristin Niles, Clear Lake Girls—Rachael Robinsin, Osceola

- 2 Boys—Donn Behnke/Kevin Hopp, SPASH Girls—William DeJung, Gillett
- 3 Boys—Pat Mulrooney, La Crosse Logan Girls—Darin Shepardson, Onalaska
- 4 Boys—Kevin Sours, Hortonville Girls—Jack Rauerdink, Oostburg
- 5 Boys—Tom Kaufman, Madison West Girls—Brian McIntire, Mt. Horeb
- 6 Boys—Joel Heroux, Oconomowoc Girls—Kurt Kaczor, Arrowhead
- 7 Boys—Randy Bucheger, Brookfield East Girls—Mike Miller, Whitefish Bay

Runner

Matthew Marcinski, Birchwood Lana Blumer, Chetek/Weyerhauser

Ryan Hartman, Wausau West Roisin Willis, Stevens Point

Zach Slevin, La Crosse Logan Jilian Heth, Eau Claire Memorial

Hunter Krepline, Brillion Anna Fauske, Kaukauna

Julian Gary, Madison West Lauren Pansegrau, Middleton

Cael Grotenhuis, Slinger Katelyn Chadwick, Poynette

Gavin Kuhlenbeck, Hamilton Kate Sperka, Muskego